Audiologist of the Year 2013

Do you have what it takes?

Nominations are being accepted as the search begins for the 2013 Audiologist of the Year. The world’s no.1 selling hearing aid battery manufacturer, Rayovac, has teamed up with Audio Infos magazine to find the 2013 Audiologist of the Year.

Let’s hear it for the professionals

The competition, now in its sixth year was first held in 2008. It was set up to recognise excellence in audiology and has grown to become the leading industry award for hearing professionals. The competition has gained strong entries from countries across Europe, including: the UK, Germany, Austria, France, Spain, Sweden. Following 5 years of success across Europe, the competition is now being launched in Ireland and the Netherlands.

The competition encourages hearing patients to vote for their audiology professionals who they believe have gone above and beyond the call of duty in providing hearing care services and have provided exceptional levels of support and service.Rayovac Marketing Director Paula Brinson-Pyke said: “It is a pleasure for Rayovac to be launching the 2013 Audiologist of the Year award for the sixth year running.We are looking forward to receiving each of the many entries and reading people’s inspiring stories.Over the past six years many people have shared their stories and experiences with us and, as in previous years, no doubt the judges will find it extremely hard to choose a winner.”

The winning audiologist from each country will enjoy the prestigious title of Audiologist of the Year, receive a cash prize and a year’s subscription to Audio Infos – but they won’t be the only winner. By casting a vote, the nominating patient can also receive a cash prize and electrical goods if their audiologist wins. All nominations are judged anonymously by an independent panel of industry experts and representatives of hearing charities and associations. The judges are particularly looking for audiologists that demonstrate:

  • Outstanding commitment to the patient
  • Support for the patient and the family
  • Making a difference in the patient’s life
  • Knowledge about new technologies
  • Working closely with other specialists, providing a team approach

Nominations must be made by patients but audiologists can ensure their patients are aware of the competition by downloading promotional materials from the Rayovac website.Entries can be made online – or via post - and votes can be cast until 12th July.

The individual country winners will once again go forward to the European competition where they will face champions from other countries for the overall European Audiologist of the Year title. The overall European Audiologist of the Year will be presented with their award and prize at the annual EUHA Congress in front of all their peers in October. Each of the national champions also receives an award as does the nominating patient. This year’s winner will follow in the footsteps of Stephen Douglas, from Inverness, who was crowned European champion in 2012.

For more information about the competition visit: or visit our Facebook page:

More details from Ian Watson or Lauren Robinson of MHW PR.
Contact or